Research Committee

Ron Boschma: Chair

Since January 2013, Ron Boschma is Full Professor in Innovation Studies at Lund University in Sweden. He is also Full Professor in Regional Economics at the Department of Economic Geography at the Faculty of Geosciences, University of Utrecht. He has widely published in international journals on Evolutionary Economic Geography, the spatial evolution of industries, regional systems of innovation, the structure and evolution of networks, agglomeration externalities and regional growth. 

Stuart Dawley: Member

Dr Stuart Dawley is a Senior Lecturer in Economic Geography in the Centre for Urban and Regional Development Studies (CURDS) at Newcastle University. His current research focuses upon the evolution of local and regional economies, particularly understanding the dynamics of path creation and development as part of the energy transition.  More broadly, his research previously connected to an array of themes including regional competitiveness, sector studies,  labour markets and migration. This includes work undertaken for international, national and regional agencies and organisations, including the European Commission, Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), Dept. for Communities and Local Government (DCLG; ) and Dept. for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS; UK).  

Lummina (Ina) Horlings: Member

Dr. Lummina Horlings (1962) is Assistant Professor in rural/regional development at the Rural Sociology Group of Wageningen UR in The Netherlands. She studied Geography and holds a PhD in Policy Sciences. Her research work broadly deals with sustainable place-based development. She has a special interest in the ‘human factor’ in place-shaping processes, including the role of values, leadership, cooperation, place identity and self-governance. She is involved in the RSA Research Network on leadership in Urban and Regional Development and the COST Action IS1007 “Investigating Cultural Sustainability”. 

Britta Klagge: Member

Britta Klagge is full professor of Geography at the University of Bonn, Germany. Her research focuses on economic and urban geography with a special interest in energy issues, finance and governance. A Master of Science in Geography at the the University of Wisconsin-Madison, she received her Ph.D. from the University of Vienna in 1997 and finished her habilitation at the University of Hamburg in 2004. Before coming to the University of Bonn in 2012, Britta was Professor of Economic Geography and Dean of the Faculty of Geography and Cultural Studies at the University of Osnabrück. In addition to serving as Head of Department in Bonn, she is active in various committees and advisory boards both in Germany and abroad. Britta has conducted various third-party funded research projects with international and interdisciplinary partners. The most recent projects deal with renewable energies, infrastructure and alternative financing.

Mario Davide Parrilli: Member

M. Davide Parrilli is Associate Professor in regional economic development at Bournemouth University, where he is the Coordinator of the PhD Programme in Economics and Business Studies. He has published extensive research on SME development, clusters and districts evolution, regional innovation systems and global innovation networks, global value chains, and social capital in peer-reviewed journals such as RP, SBE, RS, ERD, EPS, TECH, RIPE. In his academic career Davide held tenured positions at the University of Ferrara, Italy, the University of Deusto, Spain, the Central American University in Nicaragua, and the University of Birmingham, UK.

Wolfgang Petzold: Member

Wolfgang Petzold is head of unit in the communication department of the Committee of the Regions, the EU’s assembly of regional and local representatives in Brussels. Before, he worked for ten years for the European Commission’s Regional Policy and Employment and Social Affairs Directorate-Generals. Being a sociologist, Wolfgang graduated from the University of Bremen in 1983 and began his career in the field of adults’ education and continued with EU programme management in a regional ministry for economic and European affairs. Wolfgang published several books and articles on EU cohesion policy and lectures at the University of Applied Sciences in Bremen since 1999. Twitter: @WolfgangPetzold

Elisa Roller: Member

Elisa Roller is Head of Unit for Structural Policy and Economic Analysis in the Director-General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries in the European Commission.  Before that, she was Deputy Head of Unit for Conception, Forward Studies and Impact Assessment in the Directorate-General for Regional Policy and Policy Coordinator in the Lisbon Task Force of the Secretariat-General, European Commission.  Before joining the European Commission in 2003, she was a Lecturer in European Politics in the Department of Government, University of Manchester, UK.  She received her PhD in Government from the London School of Economics.   

Peter Sunley : Member

Peter Sunley is Professor of Human Geography, and Director of Research and Enterprise in Geography and Environment, at the University of Southampton.  He has published widely on economic geography including spatial dimensions of labour and regional political economy. His research has focused on geographies of labour organisation and policy, regional and local economic development, innovation and venture capital, and design and creative industries. He has frequently co-published with Ron Martin and their joint publications include influential papers on clusters and regional path dependence, as well as Putting Workfare in Place (with Corinne Nativel, Oxford UP, 2003) and Critical Concepts in Economic Geography (Routledge, 2009). He has completed research projects on the geography of the design industry in the UK, examining the connections between place, creativity and innovation, and on the development of social enterprise in different cities. His most recent research focuses on regional economic resilience and growth and change in urban economies. 

All content copyright © Regional Studies Association 2017. Registered charity number 1084165.